Home Again . . .

I spent my whole life trying to be any place else besides Reidsville, NC.  I won’t deny that.

I haven’t lived here for about 14 years . . . and while for some of that time, it seemed like progress was being made here in this somewhat sleepy little town . . . on this return, I don’t see – on first glance – a whole lot of progress. In fact, in many ways – it seems just the opposite.

However, I am a native daughter of this little haven from the world at large . . . and in some ways, it suits me now.  A bit older . . . hopefully a lot wiser than in my youth . . . having returned, I’m beginning to appreciate the word HOME.  Warts and all, there is a sense of comfort not found anywhere else.  While I would love to be able to get all the things I need nearby . . . perhaps enough progress will be made after Freeeway Drive is finally updated and the Interstate connector status goes into effect.

I am hopeful  – in a reserved sort of way . . . but  I am comforted in knowing that I can always go to Greensboro or other larger cities to get most things that I need. It’s just a bit tragic that the people here fuel other city economies instead of their own.

But that’s not what this blog is about.

This blog is about my attempt to turn my parents unused acreage into a very fruitful small farm. Of starting over in my late, very late 50’s . . . and building something that hopefully be a positive influence to all.

A wild dream . . . perhaps.

But I’ll never know if I don’t try.

Leave a Reply

Secret Garden Blessings

. . . where many things bear fruit . . .

The Abstract Spirit

A New Way of Thinking about God and the Universe

Late Boomer Views

Looking Forward with a Backward Glance

